Latin American Network for Education in Nuclear Technology


Regional Meeting on the Latin American Network for Education in Nuclear Technology, LANENT, in Mexico

nuclear education training latinamerica

Over thirty representatives from thirteen countries from Latin American and the Caribbean Region attended a meeting in Cuernavaca, Mexico, from 5 May to 9 May in order to evaluate and suggest new lines of action to strengthen education and training for the peaceful uses of nuclear energy. During the meeting, strong emphasis was laid on regional cooperation and knowledge management.

Considering that the countries of the region present a similar situation in terms of the ageing of its workforce, it is necessary to undertake different actions in order not to lose the knowledge already acquired for the sustainability of nuclear programmes in the mid and long term. As a consequence and with the support of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), LANENT was created as a mechanism to provide support and opportunities for educational topics, outreach and knowledge management.

During the meeting, a number of strategies were revised and presented as well as the achievements made by the different LANENT working groups in  areas, such as communications, educational portal, educational material, courses and careers, among others. Moreover, the topics of copyrights and intellectual property rights were discussed to be applied when using and sharing material developed by regional experts. It was also agreed that a document would be drafted relating to the evaluation of the situation of nuclear education in the region.

Likewise, the representatives designated new LANENT authorities: Doctor Juan Luis Francois, from National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) was appointed President and Doctor Aucyone Augusto Da Silva, from the Institute of Radioprotection and Dosimetry of the Brazilian nuclear energy agency Comisión Nacional de Energía Nuclear de Brasil, was appointed Vice President.

It is worth highlighting that representatives from the following countries attended the meeting: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela, along with the Technical Officer from the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Ms Mónica Sbaffoni.